Theory Matters
Theory Matters Podcast
Episode no.9: Shadi Hamid on Democracy, Illiberalism, and Donald Trump
0:00
-52:51

Episode no.9: Shadi Hamid on Democracy, Illiberalism, and Donald Trump

In this episode, my guest was Shadi Hamid. We discussed his arguments about democracy, displayed in his new book, The Problem of Democracy, Liberalism, and the second rise of Donald Trump.

Shadi is a fascinating thinker, and the discussion illuminates fresh ideas about why difference is a good thing, what democracy can bring to the table and the danger of denying representation of differences. I really enjoyed the discussion, and if you have any thoughts, please put them in a comment and subscribe to the pod.

Share

Leave a comment

Here is an old post which may make for good prior reading on this subject from my substack

0 Comments
Theory Matters
Theory Matters Podcast
My podcasts focus on political theory intersecting with practical political matters. Whilst theory is oftentimes archived away, I believe Theory has a strong place to better understand and explain our political landscape. I hope you enjoy listening :)